Great results for Australian contemporary classical in the latest OzCo round

We ought to have a lot to hear from Australian composers over the next year with Australia Council for the Arts grants being awarded to Stephen Adams, David Chisholm, Melody Eotovos, Alex Pozniak, Katy Abbott, Luke Jaaniste, Aristea Mellos, Ross Edwards, and Elena Kats Chernin.

The Bendigo International Festival of Exploratory Music and the Adelaide Contemporary Music Festival have also been awarded funding, providing the rest of us with vital windows into the broader contemporary music world.

After a series of incredibly well-researched surveys of global contemporary music culture, the emerging ensemble Kupka’s Piano will present their new program “il faut être” at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts and we will also hear from electroacoustic warhorses David Chesworth and Sonia Leber.

More details here, here and here.

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s